perfect your skills

News

  • October 2017 / Jerôme Gapany completes TtT course //

    Our course instructor Jerôme Gapany just successfully passed the Train-the-Trainer course. We congratulate him on this success and are happy to have such a competent instructor in our team!

  • November 2017 / Surgical Mission Saarland e.V. //

    A lapcenter course participant does voluntary work on the philippines operating the poorest oft he poor. Donate today for this great mission!

  • Testimonials from successful courses //

    "The simulator has been totally busy every day for more than 10 hours per day, also on the weekends" (Dr. med. Toomas Ümarik, Tallinn, Estonia)

  • 2017 / "Flying Simulator" //

    Get a simulator for your hospital! For the duration of 3 months, participants can successfully complete a lapcenter basic course on-site, right at your clinic.

  • 2017 / Locations of simulators with lapcenter curriculum //

    You can take simulator courses based on the officially recognized lapcenter curriculum here: lapcenter Zurich, Cantonal Hospitals Lucerne and Zug, University Hospitals Zurich and Basle, CHUV Lausanne. Same as last year, participants receive a certificate over 35 CME (continuous medical education) credits from the Swiss Surgical Society at the end of each course.

  • 2017 / New courses - Register now! //

    Right now the next set of courses starts at the lapcenter. Join today!

Partner

The experienced team of the laparoscopic training center in Zurich

Dr. sc. techn. Martina Vitz, laparoscopic training center, Zurich

After finishing her masters in physics in 1989 at the Friedrich-Alexander-University in Erlangen, Germany, Dr. sc. techn. Martina Vitz received a scholarship from the ERASMUS foundation and finished post-grad studies in biomedical technology in Patras, Greece. In 1996 she concluded her studies with a Ph.D in applied physics from the Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH) in Lausanne and afterwords worked as a consultant for several medical technology companies. 

On recommendation from Dr. med. Jan F. Kukleta, Martina Vitz was asked to build up the laparoscopic training center in Zurich, after Dr. Kukleta had inspired the Frieda Locher Hofmann Foundation with this idea. 

Since 2004 Martina Vitz leads the laparoscopic training center and is responsible for the planning, organization and operations of a variety of virtual reality training programs. Apart from the trainings in the lapcenter she also offers simulator and simulation training guidance to a number of hospitals.

Since 2007 she shares responsibility for planning and execution of international training curricula in cooperation with a number of companies in the medical technology area (Simbionix, Surgical Science, VirtaMed, JnJ ProfEd).

Together with Prof. Dr. med Rachel Rosenthal and PD Dr. med Dieter Hahnloser she guides the virtual reality trainings at the AGC Davos course and is a founding member of the Schweizer Arbeitsgemeinschaft für chirurgische Simulation (Swiss workgroup for surgical simulation). 

Dr. med. Jan F. Kukleta, FMH Chirurgie, Zürich

Dr. med. Jan F. Kukleta finished medical school with a Ph.D. in 1975. Under Prof. Dr. med A. Akovibiantz he was an awarded his FMH degree in 1983. 

He opened a private praxis a the Grossmünsterplatz in Zürich in 1984 and practices since then with a focus on visceral and minimal invasive surgery. He operates in a number of hospitals in Zürich, among them hospitals for the Hirslanden group and he is also a member of the doctoral board at the Klinik im Park.

Dr. Kukleta is very active in the education and training for surgeons. Since 1993 he taught a number of courses in laparoscopy as well as visceral and hernia surgery at the Ethicon European Surgical Institute in Hamburg, Germany and the Covidien training center in Elancourt, France. 

As an early adopter of a range of technologies in the operating room, for a long time he had the idea to use recent advances in technology to improve the education of laparascopic surgery. He was able to convince the Frieda Locher Hofmann Foundation to start the laparoscopic training center and in this way laid the foundation for this successful institution.

Jan Kukleta is also member in a number of surgical organizations, founding member and president of the Schweizer Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Hernienchirurgie (Swiss workgroup for hernia surgery), as well as a member of the World Innovation Council of the European Surgical Panel. 

Jerôme Gapany

Since 2005, Jérôme Gapany has been working for the Skill Center at the university hospital Zurich. He instructed and supported young Residents there during their training on the simulator. In this function, he worked together with Dr. sc. techn. Martina Vitz and the laparoscopic training center in order to take advantage of synergies. 

Since the beginning of 2012, Jérôme Gapany takes care of the data management at the lapcenter and takes over holiday replacements and conducts courses when Martina Vitz is not there. And since he successfully passed the train-the-trainer course in 2017, Jérome also conducts courses at the lapcenter regularly.

Asta Breitenmoser

Asta Breitenmoser is a passionate writer and strong communicator in every aspect, both on- and offline. She completed her studies in Germany, the USA and Switzerland with a Master’s degree in Writing and Corporate Publishing best in class. 

After several years in a PR agency and in MarCom departments of Ernst & Young and Swiss Life, in 2010 the enthusiasm for surgical simulation got a strong hold of her. As Director Marketing & Communications with one of the worldwide leading producers of virtual reality surgical simulators, Asta travelled to international medical conferences and gave courses on the simulators. 

For the duration of 6 years, she helped building up the company and took care of making surgical simulation better known and better accepted. 

Her main areas of expertise include website concepts, texts and SEO, building up social media channels and attending to them, writing professional articles, media releases and texts of all sorts, as well as concept development and strategies in the field of marketing and communications. 

Asta mainly supports the lapcenter in Marketing and takes care of the print and online communication.

perfect your skills

News

  • Oktober 2017 / Jerôme Gapany absolviert TtT Kurs //

    Unser Kursleiter Jerôme Gapany hat erfolgreich den Train-the-Trainer-Kurs abgeschlossen. Wir gratulieren ganz herzlich und freuen uns, einen so fähigen Instruktor an Bord zu haben!

  • November 2017 / Surgical Mission Saarland e.V. //

    Eine lapcenter-Kursteilnehmerin operiert ehrenamtlich auf den Philippinen. Spenden Sie jetzt für diese grossartige Mission!

  • Stimmen aus erfolgreichen Kursen //

    "Der Simulator war jeden Tag, auch an den Wochenenden, mehr als 10 Stunden ausgebucht" (Dr. med. Toomas Ümarik, Tallinn, Estland)

  • 2017 / "Flying Simulator" //

    Holen Sie sich einen Simulator in Ihr Spital! Innerhalb von 3 Monaten können die Teilnehmer einen lapcenter-Basiskurs bei Ihnen vor Ort absolvieren.

  • 2017 / Neue Kurse - Jetzt anmelden! //

    Ab sofort starten wieder neue Kurse im lapcenter. Seien auch Sie dabei!

  • 2017 / Standorte von Simulatoren mit lapcenter-Curriculum //

    Hier kann man Simulator-Kurse auf Basis eines lapcenter-Curriculums machen: lapcenter Zürich, Luzerner Kantonsspital, Zuger Kantonsspital, USZ, Unispital Basel, CHUV Lausanne. Auch dieses Jahr erhalten Teilnehmer nach Beendigung des Kurses ein Zertifikat der SGC über 35 Weiterbildungspunkte.

Partnerfirmen

Team des laparoscopic training center in Zürich

Dr. sc. techn. Martina Vitz, laparoscopic training center, Zürich

Nach ihrem Abschluss in Diplomphysik 1989 an der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität in Erlangen, Deutschland, erhielt Dr. sc. techn. Martina Vitz ein Stipendium der ERASMUS-Stiftung und besuchte in Patras, Griechenland, einen post-grade Kurs in Biomedizinischer Technik. 1996 schloss sie ihre universitäre Ausbildung mit einer Promotion  in angewandter Physik an der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule, Lausanne, ab und war anschliessend bis 2003 als technische Beraterin für diverse Firmen im medizin-technischen Bereich tätig.

Auf Anregung von Dr. med. Jan F. Kukleta hin wurde Martina Vitz damit beauftragt, das laparoscopic training center in Zürich aufzubauen. Er konnte die Frieda Locher Hofmann Stiftung für diese Idee gewinnen.

Seit 2004 leitet Martina Vitz das laparoscopic training center und ist verantwortlich für die Konzeption, Organisation und Durchführung verschiedenster Virtual-Reality Trainingskurse. Neben den Kursen im lapcenter bietet sie auch vor Ort Simulator- und Simulationskurs-Betreuung in Krankenhäusern an.

Seit 2007 ist sie mitverantworlich für die Konzeption und Durchführung internationaler Trainingscurricula in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Firmen aus dem medizin-technischen Bereich (Simbionix, Surgical Science, VirtaMed, JnJ ProfEd).

Zusammen mit Prof. Dr. med. Rachel Rosenthal und PD Dr. med. Dieter Hahnloser begleitet sie die Virtual-Reality-Trainingseinheiten im AGC Davos Course und ist Gründungsmitglied der Schweizer Arbeitsgemeinschaft für chirurgische Simulation.

Seit April 2014 ist Dr. sc. techn. Martina Vitz Mitglied des Accreditation-Review-Boards des NASCE des UEMS.

Dr. med. Jan F. Kukleta, FMH Chirurgie, Zürich

Nach Abschluss seines Medizinstudiums promovierte Dr. med. Jan F. Kukleta 1975. Unter Prof. Dr. med. A. Akovbiantz erhielt 1983 seinen FMH für Chirurgie. 

Seine Privatpraxis am Grossmünsterplatz in Zürich eröffnete er 1984 und arbeitet dort seitdem mit dem Schwerpunkt Viszeralchirurgie und minimal-invasive Chirurgie. Er operiert in diversen Zürcher Klinik, u. a. der Hirslanden-Gruppe und ist im Ärzterat der Klinik Im Park.

Jan Kukleta ist sehr engagiert in der Aus- und Weiterbildung für Chirurgen. Seit 1993 erfüllt er verschiedene Lehraufträge in Laparoskopie, sowie Viszeral- und Hernienchirurgie am Ethicon European Surgical Institute in Hamburg, Deutschland und im Covidien Trainingscenter in Elancourt, Frankreich.  

Als "early adopter" verschiedenster Technologien im Operationssaal,  hatte schon lange die Idee, den technologischen Fortschritt zur besseren Ausbildung in laparoskopischer Chirurgie zu nutzen. Er konnte die Frieda Locher Hofmann Stiftung dafür gewinnen, zu diesem Zweck das laparoscopic training center zu gründen und legte so den Grundstein für dieses erfolgreiche Trainingscenter.

Jan Kukleta ist Mitglied in diversen chirurgischen Gesellschaften, Gründungsmitglied und momentaner Präsident der Schweizer Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Hernienchirurgie sowie Mitglied des World Innovation Council und des European Surgical Panel. 

Jerôme Gapany

Ab 2005 war Jérôme Gapany für das Skill Center des UniversitätsSpitals Zürich tätig und begleitete dort junge Assistenzärzte beim Training am Simulator. In dieser Funktion arbeitete er mit Dr. sc. techn. Martina Vitz und dem laparoscopic training center zusammen, um so Synergien zu nutzen.

Seit Anfang 2012 kümmert er sich im lapcenter um die Datenverwaltung und arbeitet als Ferien- und Abwesenheitsvertretung. Und seit seinem erfolgreich absolvierten Train-the-trainer Kurs im Jahr 2017 leitet Jérôme zudem regelmässig Kurse im lapcenter.

Asta Breitenmoser

Asta Breitenmoser ist Schreiberling aus Leidenschaft und kommunikationsstark in jeder Form, egal ob on- oder offline. Das Studium in Deutschland, den USA und der Schweiz hat sie als Jahrgangsbeste mit einem Master in Writing and Corporate Publishing abgeschlossen.

Nach einigen Jahren in einer PR Agentur und in MarKom Abteilungen von Ernst & Young und Swiss Life packte sie 2010 die Begeisterung für die Chirurgiesimulation. Als Director Marketing & Communications bei einem der weltweit führenden Hersteller von Virtual Reality Simulatoren im Bereich Chirurgie war Asta international auf medizinischen Kongressen unterwegs und hat Kurse am Simulator gegeben. 

Während 6 Jahren hat sie die Firma mit aufgebaut und dafür gesorgt, dass die Chirurgiesimulation bekannter und breiter anerkannt wird. 

Zu ihren Steckenpferden gehören besonders Websitekonzepte, -texte und SEO, Social Media Kanäle aufbauen und betreuen, das Schreiben von Fachartikeln, Medienmitteilungen und Texten aller Art, sowie Konzeptentwicklung und Strategien im Bereich Marketing und Kommunikation. 

Das lapcenter unterstützt Asta vor allem im Marketing und betreut die Print- und Onlinekommunikation.