perfect your skills

News

  • October 2017 / Jerôme Gapany completes TtT course //

    Our course instructor Jerôme Gapany just successfully passed the Train-the-Trainer course. We congratulate him on this success and are happy to have such a competent instructor in our team!

  • November 2017 / Surgical Mission Saarland e.V. //

    A lapcenter course participant does voluntary work on the philippines operating the poorest oft he poor. Donate today for this great mission!

  • Testimonials from successful courses //

    "The simulator has been totally busy every day for more than 10 hours per day, also on the weekends" (Dr. med. Toomas Ümarik, Tallinn, Estonia)

  • 2017 / "Flying Simulator" //

    Get a simulator for your hospital! For the duration of 3 months, participants can successfully complete a lapcenter basic course on-site, right at your clinic.

  • 2017 / Locations of simulators with lapcenter curriculum //

    You can take simulator courses based on the officially recognized lapcenter curriculum here: lapcenter Zurich, Cantonal Hospitals Lucerne and Zug, University Hospitals Zurich and Basle, CHUV Lausanne. Same as last year, participants receive a certificate over 35 CME (continuous medical education) credits from the Swiss Surgical Society at the end of each course.

  • 2017 / New courses - Register now! //

    Right now the next set of courses starts at the lapcenter. Join today!

Partner

SwissSimSurg

Prof Dr. med. Dieter Hahnloser, CHUV, Universitätsspital Lausanne

Prof Dr. med. Dieter Hahnloser studied medicine in Zürich and since 2001 he is consultant surgeon, since 2007 with the special title visceral surgeon. At the Mayo clinic in the USA he specialized in colorectal and laparoscopic surgery. 

From 2003-2001 he worked at the UniversitätsSpitalZürich, heading the colorectal surgery unit where he also first introduced simulator training. He habilitated 2007 in Zürich and published several studies validating surgery simulation. Since 2012 he is Extraordinarius for colorectal surgery at the CHUV UniversitätsSpital Lausanne. Since 2011 he is also the president of the Swiss Association for Laparoscopic and Thoracoscopic Surgery (SALTC).

Together with Prof. Dr. med. Rachel Rosenthal he is part of the faculty of the AGC Davos Course and responsible for the simulation training; In cooperation they sponsor a Nationalfond project in the area of virtual reality. Dieter Hahnloser together with Rachel Rosenthal and Martina Vitz was a founding member of the Schweizer Arbeitsgemeinschaft für chirurgische Simulation. 

Prof. Dr. med. Rachel Rosenthal, Universitätssiptal Basel

Prof. Dr. med. Rachel Rosenthal finished her medical studies in 1996 with the Swiss and in 1997 with US American degree and received her PhD the same year at the University Basel. After obtaining the title of consultant surgeon she spend 18 months in foundational research and then went back to work as a surgeon. 

Since 2002 she focussed on the application of virtual reality for educational purposes, which lead to several publications, prizes, grants and to her habilitation in 2008 at the University Lausanne. She is part of the core faculty of the AGC Davos Course and responsible for simulation training. She is also founding member of the Schweizer Arbeitsgemeinschaft für chirurgische Simulation together with Prof. Dr. Dieter Hahnloser main proposer of a Nationalfond project in the area of virtual reality. 

Since 2009 she is Martin Allgöwer Professor for Clinical Research at the UniversitätSpital Basel. 

Dr. med. Martin von Websky, Universitätsklinik Bonn, Germany

Dr. med. Martin von Websky studied medicine in Bonn, Germany. After spending a study year in the USA (TE Starl Transplantaion Institute, Pittsburgh,  Pennsylvania), he went through a surgical foundational education at the UniversitätsSpital Zürich in the department for visceral and transplantation surgery (Prof. PA Clavien, Zürich, Switzerland). 

To continue his education towards a visceral surgeon, he is back at the Universitätsklinik in Bonn (Prof. JC Kalff) as resident physician. Surgical education, laparoscopy and simulator training are, aside from transplantation medicine, his scientific focus areas.  

PD Dr. med. Michael Bajka, UniversitätsSpital Zürich and Volketswil

PD Dr. med. Michael Bajka finished his medical studies in Zürich in 1990 and received his PhD in the same year. Since 1995 he focuses his research activities on building simulators for surgical training within gynecology. 

As one of the project leaders of the project "Laparoscopic Surgery Simulator“ his team established end of the 1990s an intensive cooperation between several institutes of the University as well as the ETH Zürich. The research fellowship at the Institute for communication technology of the ETH Zürich at the start of the millenium meant also the start for the project „Hysteroscopy Surgery Simulator“, which he lead from 2001-2009 as "Head of Individual Project and Key Researcher“ within the framework of the NCCR "Co-Me" of the Swiss National Fonds. The research was successfully transferred into a spin-off company named "VirtaMed", which Michael Bajka is a founding member of. 

In 2006 he received the Venia legendi for his paper "Virtual Reality Based Hysteroscopy Simulator for Surgical Training”. His clinical and research focus today is on surgical gynecology, i.e. in the development and validation of training programs, in the education of surgeons, as well as in the assessment of surgical skills and competencies. 

Jerôme Gapany

From 2005 on Jérôme Gapany worked for the Skill Center of the UniversitätsSpital and guided young assistant physicians during their simulator training. In this function he worked together with Dr. sc. techn. Martina Vitz and the laparoscopic training center to use synergies. Since 2012 he is responsible at the lapcenter for data management and works as a holiday and absence substitution.

perfect your skills

D'actualité

  • Avril 2016 / Projet: "Flying Simulators" //

    Cours de base en chirurgie laparoscopique sur simulateur au Kantonsspital Baselland

Partenaires industriels

SwissSimSurg

Dieter Hahnloser, Pr. et Dr. en médecine, CHUV, Lausanne

Le Pr. et Dr. en médecine Dieter Hahnloser a étudié la médecine à Zurich et est depuis 2001 chirurgien consultant. Il possède depuis 2007 le titre de chirurgien viscéral. Chez Mayo Clinic, aux USA, il s’est spécialisé en chirurgie colorectale et laparoscopique.

De 2003 à 2011, il a travaillé à l’UniversitätsSpital de Zurich où il a dirigé l’unité de chirurgie colorectale, et où il a également introduit la formation par simulateur. Il a passé son habilitation en 2007 à Zurich et a publié de nombreuses études destinées à valider la simulation chirurgicale. Depuis 2012, il est Professeur extraordinaire en chirurgie colorectale au CHUV de Lausanne. Depuis 2011, il est également Président de l’Association Suisse pour la Chirurgie Laparoscopique et Thoracoscopique (SALTC).

Avec le Dr. Rachel Rosenthal, Pr. et Dr. en médecine, il est membre de la faculté de l’AGC course de Davos où il est responsable de la formation par simulation. Tous deux sont les porteurs d’un projet de financement national dans le domaine de la réalité virtuelle. Dieter Hahnloser, au même titre que Rachel Rosenthal et Martina Vitz, fut l’un des membres fondateurs de la Schweizer Arbeitsgemeinschaft für chirurgische Simulation (Groupe de travail suisse pour la simulation chirurgicale).

Rachel Rosenthal, Pr. et Dr. en médecine, Universitätsspital de Bâle

Le Pr. et Dr. en médecine Rachel Rosenthal a achevé ses études de médecine en 1996 avec un diplôme suisse et en 1997 avec un diplôme américain. La même année, elle a achevé son doctorat à l’Université de Bâle. Après avoir obtenu le titre de chirurgien consultant, elle a s’est occupée pendant 18 mois de recherche fondamentale, avant de revenir à des activités de chirurgien.  

Depuis 2002, elle s’est concentrée sur l’application de la réalité virtuelle aux objectifs de formation, ce qui a donné lieu à de nombreuses publications, prix et bourses, ainsi qu’à son habilitation en 2008 à l’Université de Lausanne. Elle est membre de la Core Faculty de l’AGC course de Davos où elle est responsable de la formation par simulation. Elle est également membre fondateur de la Schweizer Arbeitsgemeinschaft für chirurgische Simulation (Groupe de travail suisse pour la simulation chirurgicale). Avec le Prof. Dr. Dieter Hahnloser, elle est le porteur principal d’un projet de financement national dans le domaine de la réalité virtuelle.

Elle détient depuis 2009 la Chaire de Professeur Martin Allgöwer Professor pour la Recherche clinique à l’UniversitätSpital de Bâle. 

Martin von Websky, Dr. en médecine, Universitätsklinik de Bonn, Allemagne

Le Dr. en médecine Martin von Websky a étudié la médecine à Bonn (Allemagne). Après avoir un séjour d’études aux États-Unis (TE Starl Transplantation Institute, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvanie), il effectué sa formation fondamentale en chirurgie à l’UniversitätsSpital de Zurich au département de chirurgie viscérale et transplantatoire (Prof. PA Clavien, Zurich, Suisse). 

Afin de poursuivre sa formation spécialisée en chirurgie viscérale, il revient à l’Universitätsklinik de Bonn (Prof. JC Kalff) où il exerce comme médecin assistant. La formation chirurgicale, la laparoscopie et la formation par simulateur sont ses domaines principaux de spécialisation scientifique, en plus de la médecine transplantatoire. 

Michael Bajka, Privat-Dozent et Dr. en médecine, UniversitätsSpital de Zurich et Volketswil

Le Privat-Dozent et Dr. en médecine Michael Bajka a achevé ses études de médecine à Zurich en 1990 et a obtenu son doctorat la même année. Depuis 1995, ses activités de recherche se concentrent sur la construction de simulateurs pour la formation chirurgicale dans le domaine de la gynécologie.

En tant que porteur du projet « Laparoscopic Surgery Simulator », son équipe a mis en œuvre à la fin des années 1990 une coopération intensive entre plusieurs instituts de l’Université ainsi qu’avec l’ETH de Zurich. Sa bourse de recherche à l’Institut pour les techniques de communication de l’ETH de Zurich au début des années 2000 a également donné son point de départ au projet de simulateur de chirurgie hystéroscopique « Hysteroscopy Surgery Simulator » qu’il a conduit de 2001 à 2009 comme « Chef de projet individuel et chercheur principal », dans le cadre du NCCR « Co-Me » du Fonds National Suisse. Cette recherche fut transférée avec succès dans la création de la compagnie dérivée du nom de « VirtaMed », dont Michael Bajka est membre fondateur.

En 2006, il a reçu son Habilitation pour son essai intitulé « Virtual Reality Based Hysteroscopy Simulator for Surgical Training ». Ses intérêts cliniques et théoriques se concentrent aujourd’hui sur la gynécologie chirurgicale, c’est-à-dire sur le développement et la validation de programmes de formation, sur la formation des chirurgiens ainsi que sur l’évaluation des techniques et compétences chirurgicales. 

Jerôme Gapany

À partir de 2005, Jérôme Gapany a travaillé pour le Skill Center de l’UniversitätsSpital de Zurich, où il a accompagné les jeunes médecins assistants lors de leur formation par simulateur. Cette fonction lui a permis de travailler avec le Dr. ès sciences techniques Martina Vitz ainsi qu’avec le laparoscopic training center, de façon à exploiter les synergies. Depuis 2012, il est responsable de la gestion des données au lapcenter, et travaille en tant qu’intérimaire et remplaçant.